Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:31 a.m. - 2003-02-25
Here comes the bride! Hey, wait a minute...I didn't approve this!
Wow. I think I did more productive work tonight than I did in my entire week off.

Yes, I just had a whole week off and didn't update once! How's that for being a slacker? I suck, I know. But I really enjoyed doing a lot of nothing last week, although there was a lot of not nothing, too. I worked a bunch in the first half of the week, saw a movie on Tuesday night (Daredevil, which was mediocre but redeemed by the SCORCHING hotness of Jennifer Garner. Damn.) and then had a whirlwind two days with my best friend in town.

Guess what we did? Went wedding dress shopping! Yep. It's hard to believe, I know - the last person in the world you'd expect to get married. It didn't really hit me until the fluffy white dress actually went on, and then suddenly, I was forced to accept it.

The Raisin is getting married.

In six months, for that matter. It's pretty crazy. I can't really imagine that walk down the aisle - we've talked about it for so long in the theoretical (and believe me, it was theoretical for most of the time we've known each other!) that the reality will be a little weird to accept. Don't get me wrong, I'm thrilled for her, and I love the cowboy, but...gack. She's my best friend! We're young and stupid! We're not old enough for one of us to get married!

I guess that's what freaks me out - yeah, we ARE old enough. Sure, a little on the young side (she's 22, as I will be in nine short days, for those of you wanting to send me a lovely gift!), but still definitely not so young that people will pass out upon learning of the impending nuptuals.

It's just a little much to take in.

Still, we had a great time while she was here, giggling as always, planning our superawesomeohmygodi'msoexcitedeeeeee! trip to the West Coast in the spring and plotting various aspects of her wedding. It's a little weird to think that before very long, she won't even have the same name, but as the Boy so kindly pointed out, it's hardly going to stop us from being giggling idiots whenever we're together. I mean, really. Some things will never change.

I have freaking buttloads of work to do, and it's starting to sink in that university is seriously almost over. I have 32 more school days before freedom, and if I really want that freedom, I better crack down and start getting some work done! This evening, I edited three papers, read a poem and wrote a response to that poem, read over my notes for two sections of my midterm on Friday, and worked on a project for choir. Plus I watched Buffy and went to class.

Damn. Why haven't I been working this hard all along? I could be kicking ass at this school thing! Why do I always figure these things out too late?

32 days and counting. Jeez. What the hell am I going to do next? I can't graduate! Ack! Ack! Crisis! CRISIS!

Anyone have a fabulous job for me? Please? I make good cookies. No, really.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!